MSRDS2008: New parameter in CreateInterleaveFromDsspOperationHandlers? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm relatively new to MSRDS and don't have a great amount of knowledge when it comes to the CCR/DSS etc, but I've been able to make some really cool things happen in my Robotics project using MSRDS so far!  Very impressed with your work. :)

I have, however, run into a problem.  I am now trying to create a DSS Test Service (by following the tutorial at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb608246.aspx) for one of the services used in my project.  The only problem is that this tutorial doesn't seem to be updated for MSRDS2008 as the quoted CreateInterleaveFromDsspOperationHandlers method only takes three arguments.  In MSRDS2008, there's an extra argument required (of type List<Port<DateTime>>)!

I can't seem to find anything about this extra argument on the web.  Could somebody kindly explain what needs to be done to satisfy this final argument?  I'm struggling to understand why it's needed... :(

Many thanks in advance,

Sam
    Wednesday, January 21, 2009 5:41 AM

Answers

• Hi Phillip,

Firstly, thanks so much for your help!  I've learned a lot from digging a bit deeper after your posts.

The good news is that the tests are now running, and I'm getting the expected results.  I followed your recommendation in your last post, but I was having issues with the line:

Activate(base.CreateInterleaveFromDsspOperationHandlers(this, _mainPort, "_mainPort"ref periodicHandlerEventPorts));  

Now, it seems that the CreateInterleaveFromDsspOperationHandlers method actually does the activation, because if you remove the Activate, it works!

I had a look at the method using a reflector, but wasn't really able to explain why this was.  Maybe a bit more digging will make it clear.  Anyway, it works, which is enough for now!

Cheers,

Sam
    • Marked as answer by Sam34 Friday, March 6, 2009 10:19 AM
    Friday, March 6, 2009 10:19 AM

All replies