Embedded Resource - "This is an invalid webresource request." RRS feed

• Question

• User-383897782 posted

This is my first time in dealing with embedded resources, so I'm sure I'm just doing something wrong.

I have a javascript file in my VS 2005 project file, which I've set for Build Action --> Embedded Resource.

Then, to ensure I would name the resource correctly, I used the:

Assembly.GetManifestResourceNames() to get the precise resource names in the file.

One of these was "Topaz.Javascript.AjaxConn.js".

So I added this attribute to the AssemblyInfo.cs:

[assembly: WebResource("Topaz.Javascript.AjaxConn.js", "text/javascript")]

And my page uses this code:

if (Assm.GetManifestResourceInfo("Topaz.Javascript.AjaxConn.js")==null)
     throw new Exception("The resource could not be found.");

string resource = this.ClientScript.GetWebResourceUrl(this.GetType(), "Topaz.Javascript.AjaxConn.js");
    this.ClientScript.RegisterClientScriptInclude("Topaz.Javascript.AjaxConn.js", resource);

The page renders the include as:

<script src="/WebResource.axd?d=VN0sC0vng-8704Qafmpaw7fc6RWl2EYakKsJpu0PSPldWOMAJ0rNrn2D0QMAovDw0&amp;t=632921217899531250" type="text/javascript"></script>

HOWEVER, the resource is not actually found and the javascript methods are not available to me.

If I type the url in directly:

/WebResource.axd?d=VN0sC0vng-8704Qafmpaw7fc6RWl2EYakKsJpu0PSPldWOMAJ0rNrn2D0QMAovDw0&amp;t=632921217899531250

I get a 404 "The resource cannot be found error".

If I trap the application error, I get a "This is an invalid webresource request." error.

Does anyone have some advice for what I may be doing wrong?

Thanks,
    JK

Friday, August 25, 2006 8:27 PM

All replies

• User-383897782 posted

Well, for what its worth, the problem went away when I did two things:

1.  I moved the AssemblyInfo.cs into the "Properties" folder (probably completely insignificant, but I thought I'd mention it).