none
Need Basic Help with Expression Web 3 RRS feed

• Question

• Can somebody help me. I just started using Expression Web 3 for the first time to create a web site for a photography club I belong to. I am not a coder, though I can write basic HTML. But creating CSS and div containers or whatever is beyond me. I am, however, comfortable, cuting, pasting, and editing code snippets. I usually work in a GUI site builder and end tweaking the actual code in some cases.

So I started my site, using one of the Personal templates in WebEx. The template has a vertical navigation container on the left and a single-column content container on the right. Everything is fine until I add more than about 30 lines in the content container. When I do this and then look at the site in a browser, when I get to the suspect page, the nav menu and the content jump about a quarter inch to the left. Everything looks fine in WebEx, but the browser shows the problem.

Any ideas what's causing this? Could it be the length of the Nav container? Is that even a logical question? Should I dump the templates and just build the site from scratch with tables?

Help would be greatly appreciated as I am going bonkers.

Thanks,

mark

Monday, August 23, 2010 11:52 PM

Answers

• First, you should, as you would see if you had read the BEFORE POSTING post, publish to some location, then link here, sites/pages that have display issues.

However, whenever someone mentions sites jumping slightly sideways when different - longer - pages are called for, I think:  Scrollbar space.  If the browser needs the vertical scroll bar, it will put it there.  If not, not. The scrollbar takes up space.  (You can demand that it is always there, using CSS.)

Of course, this is just a random guess on my part.  You wouldn't get guesses if you post a link to the page, you'd get answers. :)

• Marked as answer by SirMHB Tuesday, August 24, 2010 3:00 AM
    Tuesday, August 24, 2010 12:26 AM

All replies