general beginner web services questions RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to web services in general, so forgive my ignorance.

I'm trying to create a web service from my web app, but I'm confused on some key architectural concepts.

First a little background... data flows through my app in the following way...

1. database (with stored procedures that return the data)

2. .net data access layer (that calls the stored procedures)

3. business logic layer (that accesses the DAL and builds custom entity objects or generic lists of these objects)

4. Custom Entity classes 

From what I understand, with ADO .net web services, you build web services using data entity objects built off the database. What confuses me, is how the business logic would then fit in. Ideally I would like to build them off my custom entities and generic lists of them. Am I going about this completely wrong? Any help would be really  appreciated.

Saturday, March 20, 2010 5:04 PM

Answers

• Hi,

From the data services point of view there's no real downside. Depending on your amount of data, the complexity and number of users it might be OK to hold all of your data in-memory. So if you know that this is not a problem for you, there should be no down side. Unless you're going to provide some other IQueryablt than the one from LINQ to Objects, in that case you need to make sure that such IQueryable can handle all the same queries we are going to use against the LINQ to Objects one. If it can, then there's no downside either.

Thanks,

Vitek Karas [MSFT]
    • Marked as answer by amonteiro Wednesday, March 24, 2010 9:12 PM
    Monday, March 22, 2010 9:34 AM

All replies

• Hi,