none
Macro for duplicating date from datepicker in word 2007 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm new to the field of macros. I would like to get the macro for duplicating a date, which is selected using date picker into same word file in a different paragraph.

Appreciate your kind support. 

Thanks in advance,
    Saturday, February 2, 2013 5:41 AM

Answers

• Saturday, February 2, 2013 6:07 AM
  • The links I gave you show how you can use content control mapping to link your content controls, so that updating any of the ones mapped to a given XML node will update all that are mapped to that node, without the need for the document to have macros once the mapping has been done. The links include references to utilities to create the mapping.

Since you seem to prefer a macro solution, try something based on the following:

Suppose your DatePicker content control has the title 'Source' and you have a text content control with the title 'Target'. The following macro, placed in the document's 'ThisDocument' module will update the 'Target' content control any time the 'Source' content control is updated.

Private Sub Document_ContentControlOnExit(ByVal ContentControl As ContentControl, Cancel As Boolean)
    Dim CCtrl As ContentControl
    If ContentControl.Title = "Source" Then
      For Each CCtrl In ActiveDocument.ContentControls
        If CCtrl.Title = "Target" Then
          With CCtrl
            .LockContents = False
            .Range.Text = ContentControl.Range.Text
            .LockContents = True
          End With
          Exit For
        End If
      Next
    End If
    End Sub

Cheers
    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Saturday, February 2, 2013 8:31 AM

All replies

• Saturday, February 2, 2013 6:07 AM
  • Dear Paul,

Thanks for your reply.