none
UMDF driver can't communicate with KMDF driver because of initializing stage. RRS feed

• Question

• Experts, Please Help me.

I'm a new Windows Driver Developer.

I'm developing UMDF sample driver. Firstly, I made KMDF sample driver which can access some i/o ports.

My user application can get the Handle from KMDF driver by CreateFile() and receive some data from it using IOCTL. KMDF dirver path is "\\\\.\\drv".

Also, the user application can get the Handle and data from UMDF driver using same way. It's just a test, not important.

Now, I want access KMDF driver through the UMDF driver. I think UMDF driver is a filter driver and another is a funtion driver.

Maybe there are 2 way to get I/O target. GetDefaultTarget() and CreateFileHandleTarget().

I don't use first thing because two drivers are not pair. I mean the KMDF driver will be used by other UMDF dirvers not only this one.

So I'm trying to get file handle based I/O Target but I'm faced with some problems.

Before run CreateFileHandleTarget(), I have to get the Handle from KMDF driver by CreateFile() but I can't, it's impossible.

KDMF driver path is same as above. I wonder why it doesn't work. Why can't UMDF driver run CreateFile()? Is there something important that I don't know?

Please give a answer. Here is mt last Hope. If there are better methods to communicate both KDMF and UMDF, let me know. Thank you.

Thursday, January 10, 2013 2:04 PM

Answers

All replies

• what error code is returned from CreateFile in the umdf driver when opening the kmdf driver?

d -- This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Thursday, January 10, 2013 4:04 PM
  • Error code is "INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE". I can't understand. User application can open  the kmdf driver without problem.

I'm trying to resolve this problem. How about inf file of the kmdf driver? Is it possible that is the problem's cause?

I want see the light at the end of this tunnel.