none
Trigger callback from REST? RRS feed

• Question

• I have a WCF service set up that allow for WPF clients to register to a callback. So basically those WPF clients will subscribe to the service and wait for a callback to give them a command. I'm not sure if this is possible but I want to be able to trigger the callback to be sent to the WPF clients from a RESTful service using android. Here is a really bad illustration that hopefully will help illustrate what I'm trying to do. I'm new with WCF services so I apologize if my terminology is off. Any help to accomplish this, i would really appreciate. I know i can do polling with a database, but I'd like to avoid that if possible. Thanks.

Wednesday, August 8, 2012 6:41 PM

All replies

• Hi,

First you should create a WCF Restful Service for your Android Client to post information to the WCF Service.

We need to use webHttpBinding to do the job.

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/275279/Developing-WCF-Restful-Services-with-GET-and-POST

Then for communicating between WCF and WPF Client , you need to use Duplex Servide.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms731064.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms751522.aspx

If there is any issue encounter ,please feel free to post your problem to this forum.

• Edited by Otomii Lu Thursday, August 9, 2012 8:13 AM
    • Proposed as answer by Shashank Chaturvedee Thursday, August 9, 2012 9:04 AM
    • Unproposed as answer by heyheyyeah Thursday, August 9, 2012 2:52 PM
    Thursday, August 9, 2012 6:49 AM
  • Thanks for your response. That's exactly the point where I am now. But I am unsure how to get the interface that uses webHttpBinding to call the method in the Callback to get the message sent to the WPF client. Here is the interface that would interact with WPF:

<ServiceContract(SessionMode:=SessionMode.Required, CallbackContract:=GetType(IServiceCallback))>
    Public Interface IService
        <OperationContract(IsOneWay:=True)>