just starting out, Razor or MVC RRS feed

• Question

• User1879907140 posted

I'm just starting out in .NET core, I did a CRUD microservice and API already and now I'm looking to build a ASP.NET CORE Web App. I'm seeing tutorials using Razor pages and MVC way, which is the preferred and does one have more value then the other? 

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 1:40 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

I'm just starting out in .NET core, I did a CRUD microservice already and now I'm looking to build a ASP.NET CORE Web App. I'm seeing tutorials using Razor pages and MVC way, which is the preferred and does one have more value then the other? 

Razor Pages is the preferred framework for building UIs.  See the official docs; https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/core/razor-pages/?view=aspnetcore-3.1&tabs=visual-studio

Razor Pages can make coding page-focused scenarios easier and more productive than using controllers and views.

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 1:50 PM
  • User-474980206 posted

It will depend on your background and design patterns you want to use. If you are familiar with java spring or ROR, then you may prefer mvc. If you intend to use the mvc pattern or variant, the mvc framework may be better. If you have no such background than razor pages is probably a better choice. 

myself, as I typically write enterprise applications, have  switched to SPA and PWA (client apps) and only use webapi. If I need a quick web page I still use mvc rather  than learn a new framework. 

Wednesday, June 3, 2020 2:41 PM
  • User1879907140 posted