Robot = Whole House Automation ? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, as a newbie I am wondering if MSRS will fit my needs... a whole house automation system (lighting, HVAC, telephony, security, Vista Media Center State Aggregation Service etc.). 

I want to be able to host DSS nodes on multiple PCs throughout the house, and wrap services around each of the automation components (e.g., single light switch, Media Center PopUps to display text, etc.). 

On at least one of the PCs and ideally several, I want to be able to use VPL to define automation scripts (e.g., if a DVD starts playing in media room, then dim the lights and close the shades).  It would need access to services across the network.

It seems that MSRS is exactly what I need...  CCR seems critical as many events could be happening at any time, especially if each individual dimmer switch is its own service... DSSP seems a great lightweight protocol for interaction amongst services.  After all the house itself effectively becomes a huge robot.

However, before I get stuck in, I wanted to (a) validate this thinking and (b) understand some of the constraints.

Specifically I am concerns around the distributed nature... was DSS envisaged for these scenarios of multiple PCs, but with one or more intelligent "brains" that use VPL to control *all* services (not just those on the local node)?  If not, then it seems this is not as distributed as the name implies? 

Secondly, I dont see much mention of discovery services.  I was thinking about using Web Services for Devices instead, which requires WS-DISCOVERY.  Does DSSP include anything equivalent, and in fact is there any interoperability between WSDP and DSSP?  There seem to be no .Net implementations of WSD and nothing like VPL which are two pre-requisites for my project.