none
How to convert DotNet library to .h files for use as DLL? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Forum,

despite my 30+ years in pure OOD using Smalltalk I have no own experiences with compiled languages. This is why I am asking a quiestion that is certainly stupid to every deceloper using compilers:

My Smalltalk environment can perfectly use DLL as offered for use with C or C++. There exists an interface builder tool, which requires the .h header files to generate interface classes and methods.

I would like to interface a library, which is only offered for .Net (DotNet).

My question is:

Is there a way to convert, generate or whatever from .Net to the data that normally comes with C/C++ libraries?

Would that require access to all sources or is the compiled code sufficient?

Thank you very much for some enlightment in this respect.

Best regards

Frank

Saturday, February 8, 2020 1:18 PM

All replies

• Wrong forum Frank. This one is about the Microsoft Access database.

-Tom. Microsoft Access MVP

Saturday, February 8, 2020 4:25 PM
  • Tx
    Saturday, February 8, 2020 4:41 PM
  • Programmers are constantly saying DLL without clarifying what type of DLL. The original type of DLL, the kind that the Windows API exists in and that there are headers for, is often called a native DLL. Another kind are COM DLLs and even for those the header files are not so simple. A .Net DLL should be called a Class Library to properly distinguish it from other types of DLLs. I assume that the .Net library is a Class Library.

No, it is not possible to describe a .Net Class Library using C-style headers. You will need to either obtain an existing interface or write one.

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

Saturday, February 8, 2020 8:28 PM
  • As noted, this forum is for Access developers and the desktop program called MS-Access.