Preauthenticate on a Silverlight application... RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a silverlight application that I am trying to test. When the application is first opened, the user is redirected to a login page. If the user has logged in previously, a cookie has been stored on their machine which supplies the credentials and allows them to bypass the login page.

I have created web perfomance tests for opening the application and logging in. I would like to create a test that opens the application and remembers the user. In otherwords, test the scenario of opening the application after a user has previously logged in at some point in the past.

I have tried to use the preauthentication option with a username and password but this does not work. When I run this test, I am immediately redirected to the login page and the test fails. Another thought I could somehow preload the cookie.

I am new to this tool and would appreciate any suggestions. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Monday, August 22, 2011 1:03 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Does your web application support windows authentication (doamin based) or is it just form based authentication.

The pre-authenticate scenario would work for windows authentication but not for form based. For form based authentication, its recommended that you do a login everytime in your web test. This is because the session will expire anyways after a certain amountof time making the test unusable.

Thanks,

Anuj

http://www.anujchaudhary.com/
    Tuesday, August 23, 2011 8:11 AM
  • Hi Anuj,