none
Trying to serialize a list of structures RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Visual Studio and trying to transfer VBA code from Excel into a stand alone Visual Basic application.  Everything seems to work well, except I always get a "SerializationException" when I try to write datastructures to a file.  Searching the internet always points me to old (2005ish) information.

This code always fails, displaying the list count show the proper number of items.

Using fs As New FileStream(outputFileName, FileMode.OpenOrCreate)
               Dim bf As New BinaryFormatter
                    Try
                        bf.Serialize(fs, dataFile)      ' dataFile is a list of multiple items with the same structure
                    Catch ex As Exception
                        MessageBox.Show(CStr(dataFile.Count), "Fail to Serialize")
                    End Try
    End Using

A recent article from Microsoft cited a bug if static variables are used (which they aren't) and suggested using xml serialization rather than binary.  I am not rel familiar with xml, but it seems to be text based and I would like this data compressed in binary format as it is mostly numeric.

Any suggestions how to eliminate this exception?  Thanks

Friday, February 22, 2019 4:15 PM

Answers

• I've never had to do this with a structure but have with classes so the following should work.

<Serializable()>
    Public Structure Employee
        Public GivenName As String
        Public FamilyName As String
        Public PhoneExtension As Long
        Private _salary As Decimal
    End Structure
    Code flow example using classes (extremely simple where there is a list and the OP wanted one item but it can store multiple instances and multiple types) from here.