locked
Hosted data services RRS feed

Answers

  • Hi,

     

    Should work just fine (check out the data now)...the other option is to use the vbscript sample included in the Astoria CTP and hit the service with it. You may get a better error message from it. (you'll have to customize it a bit to do a POST with the desired payload).

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 1:56 AM
    Moderator
  •  Jamie Thomson wrote:
     Pablo Castro - MSFT wrote:

    Hi,

     

    Should work just fine (check out the data now)...the other option is to use the vbscript sample included in the Astoria CTP and hit the service with it. You may get a better error message from it. (you'll have to customize it a bit to do a POST with the desired payload).

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

     

     

    I don't believe it. What on earth did you do differrent to me Pablo? Smile

     

    Here's what I did:

     

    URI=https://astoria.sandbox.live.com/users/quotemehappy/quotemehappy.rse/Person

    Format=XML

    HTTP verb=POST

    Request data=<DataService><Person><ID>3</ID><PersonName>George</PersonName></Person></DataService>

     

    Hit the GO button.

     

     

    And nothing happened. I do a GET from the same URI afterwards and my data has not been inserted.

     

    My brain is starting to hurt!

     

    -Jamie

     

     

    Right,

    I just tried EXACTLY the same thing from another machine (that is using the same internet connection) and it worked.

     

    To make it worse, the machine that it works from is a VPC image. When i try it from the host I get the failure.

     

    So, fails from 3 places, works from one. The only one it works from is a VPC image.

     

    Bizarre.

     

    Wen it fails, the error i get is #Permission denied#

     

     

    -Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 4:01 AM
  • Hi,

     

    Thanks for sending in the details. Point taken, we'll look into making the tool a bit nicer. Just for the record, the intent of the tool was just to be able to do a quick test of the service, not to do too much with it Smile

     

    That said, it has caused some pain based on what I see in the forum, so we'll try and do a better version (don't get your expectations too high though...)

     

    Note that in addition to the online "tool", you can also use the Astoria client API, or any HTTP client stack or HTTP command-line client (wget or something like that) or even an HTTP debugging tool (e.g. Fiddler or something along those lines).

     

    Regarding error messages: Astoria always returns relatively explanatory error messages; the main issue now is the browser/tool now showing them, not Astoria not producing them.

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 9:56 PM
    Moderator

All replies

  • Jamie I am having the same problem. 

     

    Mike said he would post some examples tomorrow.

     

    If you get it working post it here and I will do the same.

     

    Terrence

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 1:12 AM
  • Excellent. Thanks Terrence. Did Mike say that on this forum or in an email exchange?

     

    Thanks

    Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 1:13 AM
  • Jamie, it was an email exchange.

     

    Mike I hope you don't mind me posting this.

     

    You cannot pass the user/pass as part of the URL.  You must pass the auth information in with the HTTP headers as the service uses HTTP Basic authentication.  I plan to post some example .net code within a day or so showing how to hit the service.  If you use the tool at http://astoria.sandbox.live.com/tools.raw.htm IE will popup a window for you to enter in your username / password.

     

    I need to post more about the details of the service as I know this is not well described at present……

     

    -Mike

     

     

    I hope this helps Jamie.

     

    Terrence

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 1:33 AM
  •  Terrence44327 wrote:

    Jamie, it was an email exchange.

     

    Mike I hope you don't mind me posting this.

     

    You cannot pass the user/pass as part of the URL.  You must pass the auth information in with the HTTP headers as the service uses HTTP Basic authentication.  I plan to post some example .net code within a day or so showing how to hit the service.  If you use the tool at http://astoria.sandbox.live.com/tools.raw.htm IE will popup a window for you to enter in your username / password.

     

    I need to post more about the details of the service as I know this is not well described at present……

     

    -Mike

     

     

    I hope this helps Jamie.

     

    Terrence

     

    Hmm...unfortunately not. I was aware of all of that.

     

    Its annoying that the online tol doesn't seem to be working.

     

    Might have a go at writing something in .net myself this evening if the missus lets me near the laptop. Watch this space.

     

    -Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 1:36 AM
  • Hi,

     

    Should work just fine (check out the data now)...the other option is to use the vbscript sample included in the Astoria CTP and hit the service with it. You may get a better error message from it. (you'll have to customize it a bit to do a POST with the desired payload).

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 1:56 AM
    Moderator
  •  Pablo Castro - MSFT wrote:

    Hi,

     

    Should work just fine (check out the data now)...the other option is to use the vbscript sample included in the Astoria CTP and hit the service with it. You may get a better error message from it. (you'll have to customize it a bit to do a POST with the desired payload).

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

     

     

    I don't believe it. What on earth did you do differrent to me Pablo? Smile

     

    Here's what I did:

     

    URI=https://astoria.sandbox.live.com/users/quotemehappy/quotemehappy.rse/Person

    Format=XML

    HTTP verb=POST

    Request data=<DataService><Person><ID>3</ID><PersonName>George</PersonName></Person></DataService>

     

    Hit the GO button.

     

     

    And nothing happened. I do a GET from the same URI afterwards and my data has not been inserted.

     

    My brain is starting to hurt!

     

    -Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 2:04 AM
  •  Jamie Thomson wrote:
     Pablo Castro - MSFT wrote:

    Hi,

     

    Should work just fine (check out the data now)...the other option is to use the vbscript sample included in the Astoria CTP and hit the service with it. You may get a better error message from it. (you'll have to customize it a bit to do a POST with the desired payload).

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

     

     

    I don't believe it. What on earth did you do differrent to me Pablo? Smile

     

    Here's what I did:

     

    URI=https://astoria.sandbox.live.com/users/quotemehappy/quotemehappy.rse/Person

    Format=XML

    HTTP verb=POST

    Request data=<DataService><Person><ID>3</ID><PersonName>George</PersonName></Person></DataService>

     

    Hit the GO button.

     

     

    And nothing happened. I do a GET from the same URI afterwards and my data has not been inserted.

     

    My brain is starting to hurt!

     

    -Jamie

     

     

    Right,

    I just tried EXACTLY the same thing from another machine (that is using the same internet connection) and it worked.

     

    To make it worse, the machine that it works from is a VPC image. When i try it from the host I get the failure.

     

    So, fails from 3 places, works from one. The only one it works from is a VPC image.

     

    Bizarre.

     

    Wen it fails, the error i get is #Permission denied#

     

     

    -Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 4:01 AM
  •  

    Do the machine have the exact same configuration or is there any difference? Specifically:

    Windows or something else?

    Which Windows?

    Which SP level? (guessing that SPs can upgrade msxml which could lead to something changing...)

    Which browser and version?

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 5:38 AM
    Moderator
  • Pablo,

    I am running the Orcas beta 1 VPC image at home. That's where it works.

     

    I am running the SAME VPC image (OK, its no longer the same but it was downloaded from the same place) at my work office and it doesn't work.

     

    Win2k3, service pack 2, IE6

     

     

    Bizarre.

     

    Please please please can you guys provide a client that works and provides decent error messages when it doesn't. It doesn't have to be a web-based tool - it can be a command-line tool for all I care.

     

    Regards

    Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 6:28 PM
  • Hi,

     

    Thanks for sending in the details. Point taken, we'll look into making the tool a bit nicer. Just for the record, the intent of the tool was just to be able to do a quick test of the service, not to do too much with it Smile

     

    That said, it has caused some pain based on what I see in the forum, so we'll try and do a better version (don't get your expectations too high though...)

     

    Note that in addition to the online "tool", you can also use the Astoria client API, or any HTTP client stack or HTTP command-line client (wget or something like that) or even an HTTP debugging tool (e.g. Fiddler or something along those lines).

     

    Regarding error messages: Astoria always returns relatively explanatory error messages; the main issue now is the browser/tool now showing them, not Astoria not producing them.

     

    Pablo Castro

    Technical Lead

    Microsoft Corporation

    http://blogs.msdn.com/pablo

     

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 9:56 PM
    Moderator
  •  Pablo Castro - MSFT wrote:

    Hi,

     

    Thanks for sending in the details. Point taken, we'll look into making the tool a bit nicer. Just for the record, the intent of the tool was just to be able to do a quick test of the service, not to do too much with it

     

    I completely realise that Pablo. I'm just very demanding that's all Smile

     

     Pablo Castro - MSFT wrote:

     

     

    That said, it has caused some pain based on what I see in the forum, so we'll try and do a better version (don't get your expectations too high though...)

     

    Note that in addition to the online "tool", you can also use the Astoria client API, or any HTTP client stack or HTTP command-line client (wget or something like that) or even an HTTP debugging tool (e.g. Fiddler or something along those lines).

    I tried Fiddler but didn't get very far. Admittedly I didn't try it for very long. I'll try the other stuff as well.

     

     Pablo Castro - MSFT wrote:

     

    Regarding error messages: Astoria always returns relatively explanatory error messages; the main issue now is the browser/tool now showing them, not Astoria not producing them.

     

    Yep. Completely understand that. I was just wondering if you could grab hold of those errors in the browser.

     

    cheers

    Jamie

     

    Tuesday, August 7, 2007 10:06 PM