JSON Web Token RRS feed

• Question

• User-90830185 posted

I am working on windows application (WPF, WCF and XAML etc). There is also a legacy web application designed believe it or not in VB6 (Web class). The application is using framework 4.0 although some have been upgraded to 4.5. In short all of it is somewhat legacy.

However, the customers are requesting for JWT for a single sign on.

I am kind of new to web API but have been through various tutorials and forums etc.

I have designed and developed a simple web API which generates the Token but this is all normal .net framework. However, I have seen JWT development tutorial but they are all in .Net Core.

Therefore, my question is what is the difference between creating a normal web token and creating JWT in .Net Core? If I develop JWT in .Net Core then will I be able to integrate this with the current legacy application mentioned above?

I would appreciate if someone can assist please? Thanks and Kind Regards.

Monday, May 17, 2021 9:22 AM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

Therefore, my question is what is the difference between creating a normal web token and creating JWT in .Net Core?

A JavaScript Web Token (JWT) is an openly published standard.  I'm not sure what a Normal Web Token is.  Can you explain? 

I think your first step is to learn the JWT standard; https://jwt.io/

If I develop JWT in .Net Core then will I be able to integrate this with the current legacy application mentioned above?

JWTs are Base64 encoded and signed.  The signature is used to validate if the JWT was tampered with.  Most modern languages/frameworks have JWT libraries.  Older frameworks like VB6 might require a Google search to fine JWT samples if you do not want to write your own.

https://www.google.com/search?q=VB6+JWT&rlz=1C1CHBF_enUS838US838&oq=VB6+JWT&aqs=chrome..69i57.2585j1j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Monday, May 17, 2021 10:57 AM
  • User-90830185 posted