Identity Server setup for trusted apps RRS feed

• Question

• User1358036820 posted

I am new to IDSVR and wish to set up in the following way.

I have some apps that are trusted like an MVC app and Frontend app, Mobile etc.  All these are inhouse developed.

I wish to set up login using native interface for user/pass auth.  I don't wish to use the redirect here and would probably have idenityserver work behind the scenes without exposing it to outside (for now at least).

My thinking for now is as follows

Host idSvr in its own project and run on server

Have an api talk to idSrv internally in terms or authorization/authentication and return result like tokens back to the app calling the api

Questions

1) When using MVC client that calls my API and retrieves tokens, do I just create a cookie from the mvc app to store the token?

2) If I do it above way, will this open up any security issues?

Again my aim is to just have a native login interface that talks to idenityserver so my users can sign in at mydomain.com/login rather than redirected to idSvr and having to maintain the UI for that as well.

Thursday, June 20, 2019 3:51 PM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

ammd

I am new to IDSVR and wish to set up in the following way.

I have some apps that are trusted like an MVC app and Frontend app, Mobile etc.  All these are inhouse developed.

I wish to set up login using native interface for user/pass auth.  I don't wish to use the redirect here and would probably have idenityserver work behind the scenes without exposing it to outside (for now at least).

My thinking for now is as follows

Host idSvr in its own project and run on server

Have an api talk to idSrv internally in terms or authorization/authentication and return result like tokens back to the app calling the api

Questions

1) When using MVC client that calls my API and retrieves tokens, do I just create a cookie from the mvc app to store the token?