Interpreting Netmon capture of usb audio transfer RRS feed

• Question

• Please bear with me, as I'm a simple retired audio engineer trying to find why things don't work on Win7.

I have traced a bunch of events around the onset of a data transfer failure, and have a clear pattern before and after the failure. My question is how do I go about interpreting the data to point towards the cause.

The problem, which I have asked about extensively elsewhere, is that I am testing several usb 1.1 devices on a recent AMD-based dual core laptop transferring audio to asio-based audio editing applications. The laptop audio is fine if I place a usb 2 hub between the machine and the audio interface or if I use a usb2 audio interface. But the interesting situation which I can reproduce at will is as follows...

Open Windows Control Panel->Sound and select the recording tab. Play audio, which plays OK. Select the Playback tab and sound goes all choppy or buried in crackles. This can be seen via xperf as a change from steady TRANSFER to SELECT_INTERFACE  and CONTROL_TRANSFER messages with small blocks of transfer between. Without the control panel window open, the fault is there all the time. If I disable the on-board Realtek audio, the fault is there all the time irrespective of the windows open. I have logged all this but there don't seem to be many error messages. I am also not sure that the problem is with actual usb or whether there are commands being passed to the usb hardware in the chipset that it can't handle.

The problem occurs with both 32 and 64-bit Win 7, and does not appear on an Intel-based Win 7 laptop. I have also poked around with Procmon and Process Explorer, but not found anything. All drivers are the current Win7 ones, and I am now working on the permanent 64-bit Win7 Pro on the machine.

Can anyone suggest how best to learn how to interpret the data or where else to try to diagnose and what with?

Sunday, August 8, 2010 5:17 PM

All replies