none
First-chance exception at in program.exe: 0xC00000FD: Stack overflow.

Question

• Hi Guys,
    as they say, there is a first time for everything. 

I have some software that runs as C++ (not dot net as it runs on unix/lunix as well) and has been working fine for 12 years.

I split it and created a new version of it for a client and that runs on Windows Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 just fine for that customer.

Now we are deploying it on windows server 2012R2 and SQL Server 2014 and I get the following message in VS 2010 when I try to start one of the programs. The biggest one which is a scheduler.

Now yes, I do know what an exception and a stack overflow is. I have been writing code since 1982.

What I am at a bit of a loss to understand is how I could possibly be getting a stack overflow when I have an 8GB test machine I am running on which is 2x the machine I usually develop on. I have been hunting around looking for ways of finding what might be the culprit and how to find it and fix it. Other programs that allocate pretty much the same space at startup are working on the new dev machine.

And another version of the scheduler which is very similar starts ok.

So I guess my real question is if I have a piece of code that works on other platforms and it suddenly gets a stack overflow on SQL Server 2012R2 with SQL Server 2014 when run inside VS 2010? 

Where to start looking to solve this problem?

Also....I have tried running it in both x64 and win32 outside VS2010 and in these cases is it getting an APPCRASH when it tries to connect to the ODBC driver. But another program that uses all the same classes that links to the database can unload tables ok.

These are the messages the IDE is giving me....and, if course, the program does not start, it gets a stack overflow on the call to main.

First-chance exception at 0x00007ff7bcceea97 in BIDAU008.exe: 0xC00000FD: Stack overflow.