none
Microsoft.net Framework 2.0 Service Pack 2 and/or Micrsoft.net Framework 3.0 Service Pack 2 RRS feed

• Question

• I am attempting to clean up my laptop as it is running a bit slow and noticed I have both these versions of Microsoft.NET Framework.  I tried removing Framework 2.0 but got a message to say that it was needed to support some components with the link http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=91126.  Following that, I came to information about Framework 3.0 but no information to help me.  Can anyone advise on whether I need both? Are components of 2.0 used by 3.0? How to sort this out?  I am not a developer and I have no idea how/when I managed to get to both these versions (probably hit a wrong button or made an inappropriate selection when seeking upgrades for my microsoft software).

Thanks

Wednesday, August 4, 2010 6:29 PM

Answers

• To help explain where you got .NET framework 2.0 and the extension, 3.0, we'd have to know what version of Windows you are using. For example, if you are using Windows Vista or Windows 7, the frameworks you cite came as part of the OS (plus a second extention to 2.0, .NET 3.5 in the case of Windows 7).

If you have Windows XP, the .NET Frameworks were probably installed to support applications you have installed. A lot of Windows software requires the managed environment provided by the .NET Framework, and if you remove the .NET Framework, the software that needs it will no longer function.

Please remember that .NET 3.0 is an extension of 2.0, not a complete framework. So, if you remove 2.0, 3.0 will go as well.

It is very unlikely that the framework you have is responsible for the slow performance you are seeing, and if you remove it, you are likely to have much worse problems than slow performance.

• Marked as answer by francesmur Thursday, August 5, 2010 1:53 AM
    Wednesday, August 4, 2010 11:20 PM

All replies