none
Interop Problem in C# RRS feed

• Question

• I'm not 100% sure this is the right place to post this, but I'll give it a try. If it should be posted in a different forum, please let me know which one and I'll take it there.

I'm working on a C# program that will utilize a vendor-provided OCX that appears to have been written in C++. Its methods pass SAFEARRAYs as well as more usual data types. The vendor provided a tutorial showing how to use their OCX in a C++ program. I've converted this code to C# as best as I know how, but the interop stuff is throwing me for a loop (I'm new to that kind of thing).

To offer two simple examples that use what should be straightforward data types:

String Version = "";
                int Err;
                Err = axAud1.ACVersion(out Version);
                Err = axAud1.ACInit(1, 5, "C:\\some_directory_path", (int)this.Handle);

Here, axAud1 is a reference to the vendor control. The ACVersion method is supposed to return a string containing the version of the control. The ACInit method passes several values used to initialize the control. Both return an integer error value.

C# says the signatures look like this:

int ACVersion(out string)
    int ACInit(int, int, string, int)

The vendor's C++ tutorial has the following code to do the same thing:

BSTR bstrVersion = NULL;

int Err;

Err = m_Audctrl.ACVersion(&bstrVersion);

Err = m_Audctrl.ACInit(1,5, "c:\\some_directory_path", (OLE_HANDLE)m_hWnd);

When I run the C# code, however, I get the error:

"Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt."