none
Failed to map the path '/' RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to ReportViewer

I downloaded some sample ASP.NET projects from http://www.gotreportviewer.com/

but every time i execute the project i get the following error

Failed to map the path '/'

Please let me know how i can run those sample projects.

Here is the link for the sample projects i downloaded.

http://www.gotreportviewer.com/WebSubreport.zip

http://www.gotreportviewer.com/WebDrillthrough.zip

I am using VS2010.

Thursday, December 9, 2010 4:36 AM

All replies

• This is the exact error message. I am opening the downloaded sample project as a website.

Server Error in '/SubreportDemo' Application.

Failed to map the path '/'.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.InvalidOperationException: Failed to map the path '/'.

Source Error:

[No relevant source lines]

Source File: c:\Users\Bhanu\AppData\Local\Temp\Temporary ASP.NET Files\subreportdemo\a697813b\6724d632\App_Web_pkhapo0a.0.cs    Line: 0

Stack Trace:

[InvalidOperationException: Failed to map the path '/'.]
    System.Web.Configuration.ProcessHostConfigUtils.MapPathActual(String siteName, VirtualPath path) +253
    System.Web.Configuration.ProcessHostMapPath.MapPathCaching(String siteID, VirtualPath path) +669
    System.Web.Configuration.ProcessHostMapPath.GetPathConfigFilenameWorker(String siteID, VirtualPath path, String& directory, String& baseName) +19
    System.Web.Configuration.ProcessHostMapPath.System.Web.Configuration.IConfigMapPath.GetPathConfigFilename(String siteID, String path, String& directory, String& baseName) +37
    System.Web.Configuration.HostingPreferredMapPath.GetPathConfigFilename(String siteID, String path, String& directory, String& baseName) +75