refreshing observable model RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am very new to creating metro store apps using html and javascript, and i am trying to fix up someone else's app.

I have a selection box whereby the values are retrieved from the database, I want to be able to add values to that list, and the current selection box should be updated with the new value.

I need to know how to "refresh" the model object?, or even retrieve the list again from the database.

WinJS.Namespace.define("DataModel", { model: WinJS.Binding.as({ filtersListModel: {}

}) });

I tried using the processAll method after saving is done via ajax, but the filtersListModel still returns the original list.
    I also tried using the notify method, but that too didnt cause the filtersListModel to retrieve the new list.

Thank you

Sasha

Wednesday, September 25, 2013 3:09 PM

Answers

• Hi Sasha,

I read the JQuery document for ajax(), there are some words I think may solve your problem:

By default, requests are always issued, but the browser may serve results out of its cache. To disallow use of the cached results, set cache to false. To cause the request to report failure if the asset has not been modified since the last request, set ifModified to true.

You could try to set cache as false to see if the ajax has been resend.

$.ajax({
      url: "test.html",
      cache: false
    })

Hope this time can solve your problem.

Best regards,

--James

<THE CONTENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, WHETHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED>
    Thanks
    MSDN Community Support

Please remember to "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue. It is a common way to recognize those who have helped you, and makes it easier for other visitors to find the resolution later.

Friday, September 27, 2013 7:28 AM

All replies

• Hi Sasha,