none
Simple retrieve one item from database RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, Im using c# visual studio and am creating a desktop application.  I have stored text to a table in sql server and now want  to retrieve this one item and display it in a blank text box on my form.

Alot of examples online are either, .asp or retrieving a list of items from teh database...  I want to retrieve one! but cant figure out how to do this.. here is what i have tried;

dataBaseDataContext context = new dataBaseDataContext();
    TableName value = (from s in context.TableName
                     where s.sessID == '2'
                     select s.TextValue);

textbox.text = value;  

but im getting a syntex error with the word 'select'...     So i do not know if this is almost the correct way to do this

Can anyone help.  (i am new to linq to sql)

Thanks!

Monday, April 4, 2011 9:20 PM

Answers

• Hi Emack,

Like a normal sql query your select is returning a set of rows, even though you've specified an ID this only means that your set contains only one row.

To access the row you can use (in your case) the extension method Single() but you can also use First(). Single returns the only object in the set, First returns the first object in the set...

Because I don't know what is in your table (except the ID) I will print the ID to the form. For example:

var value = from s in context.TableName
                     where s.sessID == 2
                     select s.TextValue;

textbox.text = value.Single().sessID.ToString();  

I am assuming sessID is a int and not a character as you had marked.

Also always use var as type-inference will make your life easier (espicially when you need to refactor).

I hope this helps.

Allan Merolla | BEng, JD, MCP | .NET/Sharepoint | My Blog at http://www.parallelfun.com/
    • Marked as answer by Emack84 Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:50 PM
    Monday, April 4, 2011 11:27 PM

All replies

• Hi Emack,