Newbee questions - should I spend time with MSRS? RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first post. I've been playing with MSRS, VBE and C# for about a week.

Some background on me: I'm an Electrical Engineer who's been playing with microcontrollers for years. Hardware I love - software I tolerate.

I began building a semi-autonomous submarine a few years ago. It is 99% complete, it uses 2 BS2s, 2 laptops and a ton of custom hardware to operate. One laptop and the 2 BS2s are on the sub, I connect with the sub using a floating antenna system (2.4GHz) and use "Remote Desktop" to control the sub, read sensors, view video etc. It works well. The reason I'm 99% finished and not 100% finished is I hate the GUI interface I created using "MicrGUI" software, it works but is amatureish looking. I also do not like having a $2000 laptop onboard the sub.

I'm willing to take a few steps backward with my design if I can get a better GUI and more robust command and control.

What I want: A nice looking and functional GUI (I love the sample joystick) and full control of 1 BS2PX. that will stay connected to a PC. I just need to send serial commands to and recieve serial commands from the BS2px - I can figure the rest, wireless comms etc.on my own.

Like I said, I've been trying for a week, and I'm || this close to giving up on MSRS, I cant even establish comms with the BS2. MSRS agrees the sub does in fact exist but I'm either trying to turn on a simple LED on the STAMP or acknowledge a switch state with no joy. And yes I have read through the tutorials, they assume I'm using a BOEBOT with prewritten code. 

Anyone have "hello world" PBASIC code and a smaple comms prog for MSRS? If I could establish simple comms I'd be very happy.

Monday, September 8, 2008 8:48 PM

Answers

• 1. MRDS would allow you to create pretty much any GUI you want. It would give you full winforms capabilities.