search program and file import RRS feed

• Question

• i'm looking to make a program that can search and modify pages in a pdf file and then output and save the new pdf file. i'm not sure if i'm explaining correct so. i have pdf files that have about 500 pages each page has an address on it but they are not all one right after the other. the same address may be on page 2 and then again on page 300... i'm looking to be able to load the pdf i would like searched then be able to input the address or partial address have the program search through out the pdf file, then delete the pages that match to the inputed text and then output a new edited saved pdf.  could someone point me in the right direction to create this i have some working knowledge of VB. but have never created anything like this.

thanks

Thursday, October 12, 2017 3:10 PM

All replies

• i'm looking to make a program that can search and modify pages in a pdf file and then output and save the new pdf file. i'm not sure if i'm explaining correct so. i have pdf files that have about 500 pages each page has an address on it but they are not all one right after the other. the same address may be on page 2 and then again on page 300... i'm looking to be able to load the pdf i would like searched then be able to input the address or partial address have the program search through out the pdf file, then delete the pages that match to the inputed text and then output a new edited saved pdf.  could someone point me in the right direction to create this i have some working knowledge of VB. but have never created anything like this.

thanks

I feel sure you're not likely to accept this as the answer, but to do what you want, you really should look to third party stuff like this one:

https://www.aspose.com/products/pdf/net?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-6S4-bPr1gIVg1uGCh0YOQPtEAAYASAAEgKGx_D_BwE

I've never used Aspose products but I know that Karen has endorsed them. They're very much not free though.