none
Windows authentication for WCF Service hosted in Windows Application RRS feed

• Question

• Dear All,

I am new to WCF. I have developed a basic WCF service to return a Helloworld greeting. I am hosting the wcf service in a windows application and have configured the endpoints as in the code below. I have also configured the service to use windows authentication and have also enabled encryption of messages.

Imports System.ServiceModel
    Imports System.ServiceModel.Description
    Imports AuthenticatedHelloWorldService
    Public Class Form1

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
            Try
                Dim baseAddress As New Uri("http://localhost:8045/HelloWorld")
                Dim Host As New ServiceHost(GetType(HelloWorld))
                Dim tcpbinding = New NetTcpBinding(SecurityMode.Transport)
                'Client credential will be used of windows user
                tcpbinding.Security.Transport.ClientCredentialType = TcpClientCredentialType.Windows
                ' When configured for EncryptAndSign protection level, 
                ' WCF both signs the message and encrypts
                'its content. The Encrypted and Signed protection level provides integrity,
                'privacy, and authenticity.
                tcpbinding.Security.Transport.ProtectionLevel = System.Net.Security.ProtectionLevel.EncryptAndSign

Dim productEndpoint As ServiceEndpoint = Host.AddServiceEndpoint(GetType(IHelloWorld), tcpbinding, "net.tcp://localhost:8000/HelloWorld")

Dim producthttpEndpoint As ServiceEndpoint = Host.AddServiceEndpoint(GetType(IHelloWorld), New BasicHttpBinding(), "http://localhost:8045/HelloWorld")

Host.Open()
                Label1.Text = "The HelloWorld service is running and is listening on:"
                Label2.Text = productEndpoint.Address.ToString() & productEndpoint.Binding.Name