Streaming Unit consumes more and more memory even when nothing is being processed RRS feed

• Question

• Hey,

I'm just getting started with ASA and I've noticed some weird behavior with my SU Utilization %.

Here is a picture of my performance monitor for the last 12 hours:

I can't put in a picture due to my account not being verified, so for now this URL will have to do: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/getfile/716272

This shows that ASA has not been processing any events, yet the SU % Utilization keeps climbing to 99% and then drops back down to 75%.

I checked the Operations Log for my ASA, and the result was somewhat worrying - apparently it started consuming too much memory and was terminated / restarted.

I can't put in a picture due to my account not being verified, so for now this URL will have to do: https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/getfile/716275

The timestamps correspond to when SU % Utilization dropped in the monitor.

This is what the message says:

Resource usage is over the capacity for one or more of the query steps. Event processing may be delayed or stop making progress. This may be a result of large window in your query, large events in your input, large out of order tolerance window, or a combination of the above. Please try to partition your query, or break down your query to more steps, and add Streaming Unit resources from the Scale tab to avoid such condition., : 

Message Time:
    9/2/2015 9:12:25 AM UTC

Microsoft.Resources/EventNameV2:
    streamingNode0

Microsoft.Resources/Operation:
    Process Events: Node shutdown due to high memory utilization.

My queries are very simple:

SELECT
    INTO
        [EventPassthroughOutput]
    FROM
        [EventInput]

SELECT 
    	Id,
    	Address.Street as Address_Street,
    	Address.Street2 as Address_Street2,
    	Address.State as Address_State,
    	Address.PostalCode as Address_PostalCode,
    	Address.City as Address_City,