My frist windows mobile app RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,
    I want to create an application in c# for my windows mobile 6 xda orbit ii. I want the application to
    be able to display 3 images downloaded from a website.I do not want to use internet explorer then manualy navigate to the images i want the application to be able to display the 3 images in a window on the home screen
    with a refresh button very similar to how spb weather works.
    The images are  ocean swell charts height, period and wind.
    Im a complete beginner so just enquiring what technologies would best suit this project.

http://www.corksurf.com/index.jsp?listId=5

thanks guys appreciate all help.
    Thursday, September 4, 2008 3:43 PM

Answers

•  

If you are a complete beginner to C# and programming then this will be a challenging first project.  But it sounds like you are trying to create a custom today screen.  You may want to see a post that was made by Chunsheng Tang - MSFT.

You don't want to do this in C#. To quote his response to the same question:

Chunsheng Tang - MSFT wrote:

The following article explains how a home/today screen plug-in works, so it should give you some guidance when developing a plug-in:

Architectures of the Today Screen Plug-in and the Home Screen Plug-in

The following entry on MSDN library describes in details how to create a today screen plug-in.  

Custom Today Screen Items

There are also some samples available; for example, the following is included in the WM5/6 SDK samples:

Create a Custom Home Screen

I need to mention that you can hardly develop managed plug-ins (e.g. via C#); in other words, the plug-ins need to be native.

Thursday, September 4, 2008 5:44 PM

All replies

•  

If you are a complete beginner to C# and programming then this will be a challenging first project.  But it sounds like you are trying to create a custom today screen.  You may want to see a post that was made by Chunsheng Tang - MSFT.