TFS 2013 - Cannot delete team project RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

please could you help me with the following:

I create a team project by mistake and need to delete it.

I'm a team project administrator for this project, but I cannot delete it.

The Delete option is greyed out  when I try the Web UI (see below)

When I try a command line I have an error message: 

Deletes the Team Project from Team Foundation. To use this command, you must be
    a member of either the Team Foundation Server Administrators group or a member of the Project Administrators group for the project you are deleting. 

Can't figure out why as being a project admin for this project I should be able to delete it.

The project is blank and hasn't go any code in the source control. The only  objects it has in it are a fre workitems which are  as removed.

Andrei

Monday, July 31, 2017 10:21 AM

Answers

• Hi Andrei,

You are trying to delete a default Team in a team project, not a team project (The default Team is not allowed to delete). And TFS 2013 doesn't support deleting a team project on Web UI (It's a new feature in TFS2015.2 and later).

To delete a team project in TFS 2013, you can use the following options:

1. Using the Administration Console, you can delete a team project from a team project collection:

Details, you can refer to this website: https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/docs/setup-admin/delete-team-project

2. You can use the TFSDeleteProject command line tool to delete a team project:

TFSDeleteproject [/q] [/force] [/excludewss]/collection:URL TeamProjectName

Details, you can refer to this website: https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/docs/setup-admin/tfs/command-line/tfsdeleteproject-cmd

Best regards,

Xinxin