none
Why is there so much basic functionality missing from EF RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using EF for a few months now and I am finding works pretty well but it is missing some REALLY basic features that I would have though it would support. For example:

- can't undo all unsaved changes.

- can't undo single objects

- can't save a single object

- have to pass the context around when it would appear the objects themselves somehow can get to the context (for lazy loading)

- no good way to handle popup windows were a user makes some changes and then cancels.

Opinions?

Thursday, July 28, 2011 6:13 AM

All replies

• Hello MickleKulls,

Welcome to EF forum.

You can use the ObjectStateEntry's original values and current values records. In addition, your entity need to implement IEntityWithKey. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb738667(v=VS.90).aspx

In addition, I suggest you can check this thread maybe helpful for you. http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/adodotnetentityframework/thread/c12bd8c8-231f-4dcc-a665-b048f7debbd7

Best Regards,

Larcolais Gong[MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Get or Request Code Sample from Microsoft
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

Monday, August 1, 2011 3:29 AM
  • Hello MickleKulls,

Welcome to EF forum.

You can use the ObjectStateEntry's original values and current values records. In addition, your entity need to implement IEntityWithKey. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb738667(v=VS.90).aspx

In addition, I suggest you can check this thread maybe helpful for you. http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/adodotnetentityframework/thread/c12bd8c8-231f-4dcc-a665-b048f7debbd7

Best Regards,

Larcolais Gong[MSFT]
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

Hi Larcolais,