how can only the creator of the entity can modify some properties of the entity RRS feed

• Question

• hi, i am a ls newbie

i have a list and detail screen.

i want  a few properties of the entity  can only be modified by the creator of the entity, not by the others.

this is my code

partial void IsClosed_Validate(EntityValidationResultsBuilder results)
            {
                string currentUser = Application.User.Name;
                if (currentUser != null)
                {
                    Staff currentStaff = DataWorkspace.ApplicationData.Staffs.Where(staff => staff.LoginName == currentUser).FirstOrDefault();
                    if (currentStaff != null)
                    {
                        if (currentStaff.Name != this.CreatedByWhichStaff.Name)
                            results.AddEntityError("ccccccccccccccccc");
                    }
                }

}

but the above code will execute everytime a person modiy this entity, no matter which property he modified. i only want the above code to excute when the isclosed property is modified

thank you.

sorry,the shift key of my keyborad is not working well.

• Edited by wanghu Friday, January 31, 2014 2:46 PM added something
    Friday, January 31, 2014 2:41 PM

Answers

• I think I would approach this differently. Rather than waiting until you validate the control to check to see if the user is able to change the state of the control I think I would just disable the control if they aren't allowed to.

Therefore on the screen, select the screen entity then click the arrow next to write code and chose YourEntity_Changed.

I would then use something like this:

partial void YourEntity_Changed(NotifyCollectionChangedEventArgs e)
            {
                if (Application.User.Name != YourEntitiy.SelectedItem.CreatedBy)
                {
                    this.FindControl("YourControlName").IsEnabled = false;
                }
            }