Strange Workflow Problem RRS feed

• Question

• I am quite new in Workflows and working WF4 for now. I have strange problem;

I have "WPF Control Library Project". In this project, a added an activity named Activity1. Then a WPF page. in page load, I tried to create an instance of the activity. Result is fine, everything ok. But when I add a extra namespace to the page (in WPF), the line that I created the activity instance, gives me an error, that it cannot find the definition of Activity1.

I tried same thing in "Activity Library" same thing happens.

When I separate Page and Activity to different DLLs this doesn't happen...

Am I missing something ?

Please help me...

(I am using VS2010, FW4)

dogu
    Wednesday, August 4, 2010 5:55 AM

Answers

• Hi Dogu,
    I see, you're right, there's some more problems here.

So here is beta 0.2 version of the workaround - define the default constructor to call InitializeComponent() using reflection:

public Workflow1() : base()
    {
        Type thisType = this.GetType();
        MethodInfo initializer = thisType.GetMethod("InitializeComponent", BindingFlags.Public | BindingFlags.Instance);
        initializer.Invoke(
    this, new object[] { });
    }

(InitializeComponent() is found in the generated file Workflow1.g.cs, but only after XamlBuildTask has run). 

Tim

• Marked as answer by Andrew_Zhu Wednesday, August 11, 2010 6:50 AM
    Tuesday, August 10, 2010 5:36 PM

All replies

• Hi Dogu,

Is the namespace you added to your WPF

xmlns:local="clr-namespace:{SomeNamespaceInLocalAssembly}" ?

There is a known compatibility problem between WPF Xaml and WF Xaml build tasks, which are separate. One way to work around the problem is by creating your WPF and WF classes in separate projects.

I have also just thought of and tried out another workaround, which is to add an empty partial class definition to your project, like this (I like to put it in a file called Workflow1.xaml.cs):

using System;