.NET Framework 2.0 question RRS feed

• Question

• I appologize in advance if some of my  questions to the forum is a little out of place. I am not a programmer or developer, just a gamer, system builder, and network administrator of a home network.

After installing .NET Framework 2.0, Direct X9.0c's Diagnostic shows that one of the two system.dll files is missing. The one that is listed belongs to 1.1, so logic dictates that it is the one for 2.0 that is missing. However it is in the .NET 2.0 folder! Some other symptoms are that logging into .NET sites must be done manually (being signed in with MSN Messenger does no good), and Auto-Scroll function for IntelliPoint 5.2 does not function. The computer this is on is a new install of all software, updated.

This may be just a quess, but is .NET Framework 2.0 even nessasary for a gaming/entertainment system on a home network? Having researched all these issued in the knowlage base has revealed very little useful information (as is MS's forte), other than the three problems may be linked together, or only two of them. Any idea's and information would be greatly appreciated.

Saturday, December 24, 2005 11:14 PM

Answers

• Does your system have the regkey HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectX\ManagedDirectXVersion? This key is created by dx9.0/dx9a/dx9b ManagedDX. i removed it on my system and problem goes away. The key ManagedDirectXVersion key is not needed for dx9c mdx.
    Thursday, January 5, 2006 10:50 AM
  • well it is recommended, highly, to install .NET Framework as newer applications will be built on this (generally) and will be built in the next version of the MS OS - Vista (codenamed Longhorn)

have you tried to "repair" the framework?

technically it is not necessary to have the framework installed on a gaming/entertainment system but depends on the applications you are running.

Generally games do not require the framework unless otherwise stated.

hope it helps in some way!