none
Best way to reverse engineer C# batch process RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have to reverse engineer some C# code. This process is a batch process, that simply moves data around. I am relatively new to C#, so this is really a challenge. I have tried stepping through the code, but that takes forever since there is a lot of data.

What do you guys recommend?

Friday, March 23, 2018 5:27 PM

All replies

• What exactly do you need to "reverse engineer" ... because, when you say you've stepped through the code, that doesn't tell me much about what your problems is. Generally speaking, reverse engineering (as defined in this Wikipedia article, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reverse_engineering#Reverse_engineering_of_software ) means"the process of analyzing a subject system to identify the system's components and their interrelationships and to create representations of the system in another form or at a higher level of abstraction".

So are you looking at the code in order to create a new version in another form (like in a different programming language, for example)?

I think you need to better define what you're trying to accomplish, because it's not clear from your question ... unless, I'm having "one of those days" and I'm just not thinking straight ...  ;0)  

~~Bonnie DeWitt [C# MVP]

http://geek-goddess-bonnie.blogspot.com

Saturday, March 24, 2018 1:37 AM
  • The term "reverse engineer" is usually used in the manner to refer to the process of looking at the compiled code and attempting to re-create the source code. I have never seen the term used to refer to a process involving just the source code. I think you are saying you want to understand the code but you don't want to say that directly. Unfortunately there are no easy answers unless you have money to spend.

I recommend learning C#.

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

Saturday, March 24, 2018 4:18 AM
  • Thanks for your responses.