Avoiding Dual Maintenance w/ WML and HTML? (newbie question) RRS feed

• Question

• User-184505905 posted
    Greetings. I'm brand new to the wireless arena (as you'll soon see). I've been given a heads-up about a project coming my way: I need to develop a wireless app that will support both WML and HTML. After throwing together a test page using existing business components, I'm operating under the following assumptions:

- the HTTP_ACCEPT server variable can help me determine the capabilities of the client

- If that variable contains "vnd.wap.wml" the client is a wireless device, and if it also contains "wap.xhtml" it supports browsing of regular HTML pages.

Based on those two assumptions, I guess my plan is to redirect clients to pages in a WML or HTML subdirectory. My question is, is there a way to avoid maintaining two sets of pages that call the same components and display the same info?

Any advice is appreciated.
    Wednesday, January 4, 2006 11:27 AM

All replies

• User664499748 posted

Have you considered using mobile web forms to develop your website [http://www.asp.net/default.aspx?tabindex=4&tabid=44] - mobile web forms automatically adapt rendered content based on the requesting device and thus not requiring the need for maintaining multiple versions of the app.

HTH, Kashif

Tuesday, January 10, 2006 5:06 AM
  • User-184505905 posted

Kashif,

Thanks for the reply, and yes, your answer confirms what I had found in the last couple days.

Now, the big debate in my dept. is whether to develop strictly for WAP 2.0 clients or a mix of WAP 1.x and 2.0 using Mobile Web Forms. I'm being pelted with questions concerning the necessity of a corporate WAP Gateway in either scenario and I'm struggling to find definitive answers.

Tuesday, January 10, 2006 8:55 AM
  • User604424641 posted