JIT Debugging RRS feed

• Question

• Ok im still new to this but how in the world do i enable JIT debugging on my windows form application and where do i do it.

i have the following code

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

But i place it in my form but it doesn't work anyone know what i should do or where i should place it ???
    Monday, June 27, 2005 10:13 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I think things have changed with Beta2. Did some R&D and finally out how to do this in VB 2005 and Beta 2. Here are the steps:

To manage an unhandled exception
    1. With a project selected in Solution Explorer, from the Project menu select Properties.

2. Select the Application tab.

3. Click the View Code button to open the Code Editor.

4. This opens the MyEvents.vb file.

5. With the MyEvents.vb file open in the Code Editor, from the General drop-down menu select MyApplication Events.

6. From the Declarations drop-down menu, select UnhandledException.

7. The application raises the UnhandledException event before the main application runs.

8. Add code or MessageBox there which will display ur user friendly message.

Regards,
    Vikram

Tuesday, July 5, 2005 12:02 PM

All replies

• Anyone that knows the answer ???
    Tuesday, June 28, 2005 6:50 PM
  • That didn't help much i still don't know what code to use how to turn it on in my windows forms.
    Tuesday, June 28, 2005 9:55 PM
  • Does anyone know the answer ??
    Thursday, June 30, 2005 9:35 AM
  • I cant believe no one here knows an answer or is able to help me with this problem.
    Friday, July 1, 2005 3:57 PM
  • Have you ensured you've enabled JIT Debugging in VS?  (I think it should be enabled by default...?)

Tools | Options. In the tree, expand Debugging and click Just-In-Time.  Check the entries for the types of code for which you wish to enable JIT Debugging.
    Friday, July 1, 2005 5:46 PM