none
Assert failure on add string for CListbox control RRS feed

• Question

• I am a newbie. I have created a C++ MFC dialog box where I have edit box (value variable in DDX) and a CListbox (with both control and value variable) associated with it. I want to take the text from edit box and on hitting a button ADD, add the text at the end. I have experimented multiple ways, but I cannot get the text to show in the listbox using m_VALUE_LIST.Insert() or append command. I tried using the c_CONTROL_LISTBOXVAR.AddString() command and it creates an assert failure in winctrl1.cpp on line 185 which is DrawItem(LPDRAWITEMSTRUCT) function. I can get the text to be displayed elsewhere in the dialogbox which means updatedata() and updatedata(false) is working. The function is below with my latest test. I can see the int "I"  to increase by 1 but it does not display the data and also causes an assert failure with or without UpdateData(false).

void CParticipant::OnBnClickedButtonAddSessions()
    {
     // TODO: Add your control notification handler code here
     UpdateData(true);
     CString str = _T("Item");
     c_SessionsList.AddString(str);
     //c_SessionsList.ResetContent();

int i = c_SessionsList.GetCount();

//CString str1 = c_SessionsList.Get

//if (m_Sessions.IsEmpty() == FALSE)
     //{
     // if (m_SessionsList.IsEmpty() == TRUE)
     // {
     //  c_SessionsList.AddString(m_Sessions.GetString());
     //  //m_PID.SetString(m_Sessions.GetString());
     // }
     // else
     // {
     //  //int i = c_SessionsList.GetCount();
     //  //c_SessionsList.AddString(m_Sessions.GetString());
     // }
     //}
      UpdateData(false);
    }

Any help is appreciated because this is getting frustrating. Thanks

I just updated the code with testing the add string function with a CComboBox and it worked but clicking on the listbox gave the same error, when I clicked retry on the messagebox it gave a different error in afx.h line 317,