none
EDI solution for SAP generated FF messages RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a total newbie regarding the EDI features of BizTalk 2009/2010 so this is probably a very basic question.

I've been trying to understand how the EDI bacthing and prosessing works. I now have a project where I'm puzzled on how to solve the situation. I'm considering BizTalk EDI features mainly because I was told incoming messages would be easy to receive as EDI messages.

In my project, I receive/send SAP generated FlatFiles that should be in standard EDI(FACT) format, according to the customer.
    I tried to read these in using the EDI pipeline but the problem is what schema to use. How can a find out the schema?

For example, one of the files is described as "SHPORD YDELVRY2 v.9".
    This file begins with the code "EDI_DC40".

I'm probably missing information here but what do I need to know to proceed?
    My main conern is that I need build the schemas for the FlatFiles from scratch.

How should I proceed with this task?

Sunday, May 22, 2011 5:18 PM

Answers

• Based on the links provided by Ben it seems the FlatFiles are in SAP IDOC format and in my project scenario it appears there is no need for any EDI processing. The requirement is to convert inbound SAP IDOC FlatFiles into an inhouse XML format which is then sent to another system for prosessing. Similarly, a couple of inhouse XML messages should be transformed into SAP IDOC FlatFiles and sent back to the SAP system. Sorry about the confusion.

My only concern is no how to process the SAP IDOCs in BizTalk. As I've understood one should use XSD schemas generated from the SAP system that produces the FlatFiles. I guess my confusion is based on the fact that I haven't received any schemas, just the FlatFiles and some vague descriptions.

Any advice regarding SAP IDOC FF processing?