ContainerFromIndex is Nothing after setting ItemsSource

Question

• I have an ItemsControl in which I sometimes want to set focus to a TextBox in the ItemTemplate after setting the ItemsSource. Here is the code I am currently trying to use:

System.Diagnostics.Debug.WriteLine("Checkpoint 1: {0}", Me.ContainerFromIndex(0) Is Nothing)
    Me.ItemsSource = Me.PlayerNames.Concat({""}).Select(Function(n, i) New With {.PlayerName = n, .Index = i})
    System.Diagnostics.Debug.WriteLine("Checkpoint 2: {0}", Me.ContainerFromIndex(0) Is Nothing)

When I run this code, I get the output of

False
    True

Which means that Me.ContainerFromIndex(0) is not Nothing before setting the ItemsSource, but it is Nothing afterwards. Is this because the binding has not yet happened? What can I do to set focus to a TextBox in the ItemTemplate for a specific item? Thanks!

Nathan Sokalski njsokalski@hotmail.com http://www.nathansokalski.com/

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 5:01 PM

All replies

• Hi Nathan,

What can I do to set focus to a TextBox in the ItemTemplate for a specific item?

-> try to find the current textbox once the binding is finished, you could ref to the article: Finding
    Element in ItemsControl DataTemplate (ListView/GridView/FlipView) - Window Store
    Apps
    , after you have found the correct textbox, set focus on it.

--James

<THE CONTENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, WHETHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED>
    Thanks
    MSDN Community Support

Please remember to "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue. It is a common way to recognize those who have helped you, and makes it easier for other visitors to find the resolution later.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 2:15 AM
  • "try to find the current textbox once the binding is finished"

That is where the problem is: When is it finished?