none
Enum statement in VBA RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm only an occasional writer of macros for Excel and I have 2 questions regarding the Enum statement. Would appreciate some help.

At the top of a standard Module I declared

Enum aEnum

a

b

c

End Enum

Question 1 : In some routine I have

Dim i as aEnum

For i = a to c

MsgBox i

Next

Is there any way to make this loop display a b c rather than 0 1 2 ?

Question 2 :

Dim i as aEnum

Let i = 10

Is it normal that this does not raise an error (compilation or runtime) ?

Similarly,

Function aFunction (aParam as aEnum) as <some type>

Is it normal that this function can be called with

someEnumVariable = aFunction (10)

without raising an error (compilation or runtime) ?

It seems to me that in both cases the value 10 violates the definition of the type aEnum.

Thanks in advance

Monday, February 13, 2017 5:17 PM

Answers

• For part 1, you could use a function:

Enum aEnum
        a
        b
        c
    End Enum

Sub test()
        Dim i As aEnum

For i = a To c
            MsgBox EnumName(i)
        Next i
    End Sub

Function EnumName(i As aEnum) As String
        Select Case i
            Case 0: EnumName = "a"
            Case 1: EnumName = "b"
            Case 2: EnumName = "c"
        End Select
    End Function

For the second part, you should not be setting the value to a number, you should be using autocomplete, as shown in this screen capture:

• Proposed as answer by Chenchen LiModerator Tuesday, February 14, 2017 5:29 AM
    • Marked as answer by nunof32 Tuesday, February 14, 2017 3:55 PM
    Monday, February 13, 2017 10:10 PM

All replies

• For part 1, you could use a function:

Enum aEnum
        a
        b
        c
    End Enum

Sub test()
        Dim i As aEnum

For i = a To c
            MsgBox EnumName(i)
        Next i
    End Sub

Function EnumName(i As aEnum) As String
        Select Case i
            Case 0: EnumName = "a"
            Case 1: EnumName = "b"