none
[EXCEL] dropdownlist month & year autofill weekdays RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm fairly new to VBA and would appreciate any help you can provide with the following problem. I am trying to make a spreadsheet that records the number of hours I've worked each month.

I have two drop down lists: one containing months (in the format "January", "February"...) the other containing years ("2011", "2012"...).

When I select any combination I want Excel to autofill a column with the weekdays of that month in the format dd/mm/yyyy.

I'm not sure where to begin, but I have recorded a macro by manually filling in the first date of the month and using the autofill feature down the column; I just don't know where to go from here...

Cheers,

Jim

Monday, August 22, 2011 12:30 PM

Answers

• Hi Jim,

I just thought I'd say thanks for your help. Although I couldn't get your method to work, it put me on the right track.

I ended up with a more complex solution that required a few formulas spread over a couple of columns; but it does what I need it to do.

I would post my solution but it would take me too long to explain! and there's no file attach feature on this forum (that I can find).

Cheers,
    Jim

Tuesday, September 6, 2011 10:50 AM

All replies

• You don't need VBA to do it.
    If your linked cells are in J1 and M1, with the months & years dropdown lists directly below those cells...
    Enter this formula in H2:   =EOMONTH(INDIRECT("J"&J1+1) & " " & INDIRECT("M"&M1+1),-1)
    Enter this formula in G2 and fill down (about 24 rows):  =WORKDAY($H$2,ROW()-1)
    Format cells to your taste - you are done.
    '---
    Jim Cone
    Portland, Oregon USA
    http://www.mediafire.com/PrimitiveSoftware
    (Data Rows add-in: Color rows, Delete rows, Insert rows)

Monday, August 22, 2011 10:07 PM
  • Hi Jim,