none
Pipeline seems to iddle other pipelines when trigger at the same time with different triggers

Question

• Hi all,

I have created few pipelines in my Data Factory account, I am new in this and I am still making sense of everything. I know that the triggers and pipelines are many to many. I have 1 pipeline with a trigger every 6 hrs, and I have 3 pipelines that are trigger everyday at 12am. The 6hr-triggerred pipeline overlaps eventually at 12am with the 3 daily pipelines. The activities as Custom (I run a python script to ingest data) using a dedicated VM Standard A3. I have noticed that when the 4 pipelines overlap at 12am, the one with the 6hr-trigger makes the other 3 be idle. I thought they would run in "parallel" since the A3 VM has 4 Cores. Once the 6hr-triggered pipeline is done, the other 3 pipelines start running. Is this a normal behavior? Is there a way to make this in "parallel"? I have searched online but I haven't found way to make this possible by means of the portal.azure.com. Any help/insight will be appreciated?

Thanks,

Jose

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 3:19 PM

Answers

• Hi Jose,

If you have your maxTasksPerNode set to 1, and your pool has 1 node, you will only run 1 task at a time.  You mentioned your instance type has 4 cores, so you could set maxTasksPerNode up to 16.  The documentation I linked to mentions you can set  maxTasksPerNode up to 4 times the number of cores your node has.  Let me know if I am misunderstanding the number of nodes you are using.

There is a Powershell command to change Batch pool settings:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/azurerm.batch/Set-AzureBatchPool?view=azurermps-6.8.1

I hope this clarifies things :)

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 11:22 PM

All replies

• Hi Jose,