Jobs Failing on Secondary Replica (Always On) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys,

I am new to Always on Availability Technology.

So there are 2 nodes Primary and Secondary server part of Always on Availability Group.

Below are the settings:

Ø     Availability Mode:

Synchronous Commit

Ø Failover Mode:

Automatic

Ø Readable Secondary:

NO

Ø Backup Preference :

Prefer Secondary (Default)

So the jobs are running fine on Primary node but on Secondary it is failing.

My question is :

1. As the readable secondary is set to NO , it will not execute the jobs on secondary.

2. In error log i see below error on Secondary server  (Replica)

Error: 976, Severity: 14, State: 1

The target database, 'test', is participating in an availability group and is currently not accessible for queries. Either data movement is suspended or the availability replica is not enabled for read access. To allow read-only access to this and other databases in the availability group, enable read access to one or more secondary availability replicas in the group.  For more information, see the ALTER AVAILABILITY GROUP statement in SQL Server Books Online.

so is this normal/ expected?

3. in the job history i see below messgae:

Unable to connect to SQL Server '(local)'.  The step failed.

What does this mean?

Am i doing something wrong , or should disable the logs on Secondary Server??

Thank you.

Saturday, March 11, 2017 5:43 AM

Answers

• Secondary (Failing)

-----------------------------

BACKUP DATABASE [TEST] TO  DISK = N'B:\Backup\TEST' WITH NOFORMAT, INIT,  NAME = N'TEST-Full Database Backup', SKIP, NOREWIND, NOUNLOAD,  STATS = 10
    GO

So , is it like that whenever we have to take backups on "Replica" we need to take it with "COPY_ONLY OPTION"?

Yes you have to add copy_only clause

BACKUP DATABASE [TEST] TO  DISK = N'B:\Backup\TEST' WITH NOFORMAT, INIT,  NAME = N'TEST-Full Database Backup', SKIP, NOREWIND, NOUNLOAD,  STATS = 10,copy_only
    GO

Cheers,

Shashank