Can only center last label in Row Layout RRS feed

• Question

• I'm just starting out with the HTML client and, clearly, I'm doing something wrong. But I'm not even sure what a lot of things are called so I don't know what to search for to help myself. But I'm thinking that the problem lies in my lack of understanding of jQuery as this should be really simple.

I have the following layout:

Screen Designer

With the following code behind:

myapp.Splash.lblCopyright_postRender = function (element, contentItem) {
        $("label").addClass("custom-center-label");
    };

And the following in user-customization.css:

/* Custom Classes */
    .custom-center-label {
        text-align: center;
    }

My screen ends up looking like this:

Resultant page

I can see in the DOM Explorer that the class is getting applied correctly and the Computed properties call for text-align to be center.

DOM Explorer

So I have two questions. First and foremost, why can I only get the last label in my Row Layout to be centered when all labels have the same class? And second, why, with the code that I have in the single Local Property's function, do all label's get the class added?

• Edited by kyle ls Wednesday, September 23, 2015 10:46 PM
    Wednesday, September 23, 2015 10:39 PM

Answers

• $("label") is a jQuery selector that returns all <label> elements in the document.

That's why $("label").addClass will add the class to every label in the document.

In LS _postrender if you want to affect only the respective contentItem you would work on the 'element' variable like Michael suggested.  The element variable represents the contentItemPresenter element which wraps every contentItem in the DOM (it's the div with class msls-presenter).

To set the class to all labels in the element you could do this:

$(element).find("label").addClass