PowerPivot support hiearchies RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a beginner with PowerPivot and I think to use it for querying my dbs and dwhs.

Does PowerPivot support an hierarchy, fe year + quarter + month?

In particular I need to implement an hierarchy about the accounts of a company.

Thanks

Friday, May 13, 2011 10:39 AM

Answers

• Psorca,

In the current release, there is no support for hierarchies in PowerPivot. Beware also that in PowerPivot there is also no need for natural hierarchies, as it is currently in SSAS, slicing is always superfast even on non natural structures. Nevertheless, you need to take columns from tables one by one, there is no concept of hierarchy at all.

For what concerns account hierarchies, they are normally seen as parent/child hierarchies and, even if P/C can be handled in PowerPivot (see http://sqlblog.com/blogs/alberto_ferrari/archive/2011/02/15/powerpivot-and-parent-child-hierarchies.aspx) they are a real pain in the neck, since they need advanced data modeling and DAX skills to be implemented. Thus, you can implement them, but don't expect it to be easy at all. :)

In the next version hierarchies will be there, even if up to now no detail has been disclosed about how they will work.

Alberto Ferrari
    Friday, May 13, 2011 11:19 AM

All replies

• Psorca,

In the current release, there is no support for hierarchies in PowerPivot. Beware also that in PowerPivot there is also no need for natural hierarchies, as it is currently in SSAS, slicing is always superfast even on non natural structures. Nevertheless, you need to take columns from tables one by one, there is no concept of hierarchy at all.