Display Progressbar while dataset loads RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi:

I'm new to Visual Basic, new to writing code, actually. I'm using Visual Basic 2005 and SQL Server 2005. I'm filling a dataset named dstblnewresults that typically loads approximately 800,000 rows.  The data is then displayed in a datagrid view named dGvNewResults. I'd like to display a progressbar while the rows ares being added. I've searched the Web extensively and have not been able to find a clear, concise example. Can anyone provide me with a detailed explanation of how to accomplish this? Thank you so very much in advance!

Thursday, August 7, 2008 4:06 PM

Answers

• Hi CarmineD,

As far as I can understand, the problem you are facing is “How to use ProgressBar to trace the process of filling a dataset”.

As JohnGrove has provided a way to show the ProgressBar in Marquee style, you will see no effect when you put “me.progressbar1.visible=true…” in constructor or Load event handler. Because all the code in the load event handler will be executed before the shown event is fired.  So when the form is shown, the value of progressbar.visible is false.  You can put the code in a button click event handler.

As far as I know, if we use DataAdapter.fill(dataset) to fill the dataset, it will be difficult for us to trace of exact process of the filling. However, we can use Command.ExcuteXXX() to execute query and add the record to the Dataset. Indeed we would write more codes, but the process can be easily traced. In my test project, I use the following steps and it does the job well.

1.       Get the total row number of the DataTalbe.(how to get? Refer to code1)

2.       Set the minimum and maximum property of ProgressBar(how to set? Refer to code2)

3.       Execute the query using Command.ExecuteReader(), then add the records to the DataTable.(how to? Refer to code3)

Code1:

Code Snippet