none
Where can I learn to wrap my mind around Choice, Arbiter, yield, etc.? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm fairly new to C#, and I can't seem to wrap my brain around the Choice object.  It is barely more than mentioned in the one of my hardcopy books that mentions it, but I see it straightfowardly used and presented with little explanation in many of the online tutorials I've worked with or looked at.    For example, if you look at the MSDN DSS tutorials, they all use it, for example here from DSS Tutotial 6:  

// Add the handlers for notifications from ServiceTutorial4.

// This is necessary because these handlers do not handle

// operations in this service, so you cannot mark them with

// the ServiceHandler attribute.

MainPortInterleave.CombineWith(

new Interleave(

new TeardownReceiverGroup(),

new ExclusiveReceiverGroup(),

new ConcurrentReceiverGroup(

Arbiter.Receive<rst4.IncrementTick>(true, _clockNotify, NotifyTickHandler),

Arbiter.Receive<rst4.Replace>(true, _clockNotify, NotifyReplaceHandler)

))

);

Naturally, I realize there's a LOT of new stuff I'm taking on here, but this code really doesn't make sense to me.   I can get through the tutorial but it has little value if I'm just typing or pasting stuff without knowing what it means.   Are delegates being invoked here?   I do understand the basic principle of delegates, but am not yet comfortable with them as I would be with, let's say, a "for" loop.  So perhaps I'm missing it in a larger and unfamiliar context.  

To take another example, I understand "yield" is a late-binding tool so to speak, that executes and delivers a query result at the time of execution.   But what the heck is "yield return", as in this example, also from DSS Tutorial 6?

private IEnumerator<ITask> OnStartup()

{

rst4.Get get;

<strong><em>yield return _clockPort.Get(GetRequestType.Instance, out get);</em></strong>

rst4.ServiceTutorial4State state = get.ResponsePort;

if (state == null)

//lots of code in the if block

}