none
Programming for Office365 Excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone,

Im quite new to programming and have a few questions according Office 365/Excel in Visual Studio.

I have some expirience programming smaller things in VBA to automate a lot of tasks in Excel, but i have come to the point that the data that needs computing, is a bit to much for VBA to handle everything in time, plus i need to create something that runs 24/7 later on our little server and VBA scripts dont seem to be to practical for this.

aaaaanyway, i figured i learn a programming language and landed on C++, but i cant for the life of me find the libraries to include to use excel functions, only the libraries for older Office versions seem to exist.

So my question now is: is it possible to use C++ to make some automations for excel, or do i need to switch to something else? C# seems like it has what i need from what i could find so far.

And do you have any expierience in this topic? as i said i need a programm that runs 24/7 and makes different calculations with the data from textfiles/data that comes in every so often. Excels functions seem perfect for this, since most of it already exists in VBA code, which i just need to translate and put together...

Im sorry, but i have issues sometimes making a short and simple question:

What is a good language to use for Excel 365 automation and where can i find the neccessary libraries?

Greetings,

PS: sorry hab' nicht gesehen, dass das hier ein deutsches Forum ist.... uups
    Thursday, July 26, 2018 1:55 PM

All replies

• Hello fourtimestenplustwo,

There are many language support for Office automation. They are including but not limit to C++,C#, VB.Net. You could choose any of them you are more familiar.