none
Regex CSV Splitting RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am trying to split lines from a CSV-Files that can include data within and without quotes:

25;"text1";18.0;303.50;"text2a;text2b;text2c";2017-05-14 23:38:05;"woof";;10;

As you see, strings/text is "quoted" and can include ; within the field, while other stuff is not.

I need the following output, but failed so far, since I'm not good at regex...

text1

text2a;text2b;text2c

2017-05-14 23:38:05

....and so on. Notice there are empty fields.

Thanks, Roger

Saturday, September 30, 2017 11:35 AM

Answers

• Hi Roger,

Because there are ; inside a string you need a parser with a state machine.

class Program { static void Main(string[] args) { // // To insert a quote in a literal C# string add an extra quote. // var s = @"25;""text1"";18.0;303.50;""text2a;text2b;text2c"";2017-05-14 23:38:05;""woof"";;10"; var result = StateParse(s); foreach (var str in result) Console.WriteLine(str); }

private static string[] StateParse(string s) { var i = 0; var state=false; var sb = new StringBuilder(s); foreach (var c in s) { if (c == '"') state = !state; // The state machine. if (c == ';' && !state) sb[i] = ','; i++; } return sb.ToString().Split(','); } }

Below you see the output of this console program.

Best Regards,

Rudy Meijer

• Marked as answer by darkchanter99 Sunday, October 1, 2017 8:12 AM
    Saturday, September 30, 2017 9:10 PM

All replies

• It's too early for me to go into detail, late night programming :)

But you don't need to use regex for that, simplest is to use string.Split(delimiter)

foreach(string line in lines)
    {
    string[] values = line.Split(';');
    // do something with you array of values from that line
    }
    hope that helps, I need coffee!

Saturday, September 30, 2017 12:04 PM
  • Unfortunately, that doesn't deal with quotes. It would return the "sub-items" as values on it's own, rather than one value all together.
    Saturday, September 30, 2017 3:03 PM