How do I get rid of the "Visual Studio 2010" folder in My Documents?

Question

• Hi everyone.

Every time it runs, Visual Studio creates a folder called "Visual Studio 2010" in the "My Documents" folder. I don't want it there.

Question 1: Is there anything I can do about it?

Question 2: What is Microsoft's best practice policy on proper use of the file system? I'm a programmer, and I've always understood that storing application data in My Documents was taboo. However, Microsoft is clearly doing it, so it makes me scratch my head and wonder if I'm organizing my applications' files correctly. What's the logic here?

-TC

Friday, August 03, 2012 10:49 PM

All replies

• To Question 1:

In Visual Studio, go to Tools.

a.) in Tools check "Show All Settings".

b.) Tools > Options > Projects and Settings > General. Set the three locations as desired.

To Question 2:

Only for me!

To make it as easy as possible, I always use my Applications folder. If necessary, I create a myprojects folder below, or downloadedModules etc.

Saturday, August 04, 2012 12:46 AM
  • moskito-x,

Regarding Question 1:

Please confirm that your solution works for you. I tried it, and it doesn't work for me. (When I go to Tools > Options > Projects and Settings > General and set the three locations, Visual Studio continues to create a "Visual Studio 2010" folder in My Documents.)

Regarding Question 2:

When I put everything in the application folder, things work fine in XP, but fail badly in Windows 7 because of user privileges problems. How do you avoid those problems? (Or do you?) I also have privilege problems when I try to use the ProgramData folder. My question, however, was really about whether or not Microsoft has documented their recommendations for where to store files. My impression is that they designed a system that made sense, but nobody used it, so Microsoft's attitude now is "Screw it. Just put your files in the My Documents folder."

-TC

Sunday, August 05, 2012 4:30 PM