none
How to create SQL connection outside of the code? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everybody!

I am quite new in C# programming, but I really want to study it! Smile

I have question, concerning the connection string to SQL Express 2005.

So I have developed small application that allows users to grab some reports from the SQL Express database. What I need to do is to separate SQL connection string from the code. I need to create some configuration window within application where users will be able to define path to the server, user name and password themselves.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thank you in advance.

Monday, July 30, 2007 12:31 PM

Answers

• Hi,

If you are creating Windows Forms Application, use Application Settings in App.Config file to store your connection string.
    Reference : link,
    link, link, link

If you are creating Web Forms Application, use Web.Config file's ConnectionStrings tag in Configuration tag and access it through ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings collection.
    link, link

Both are the standard ways to store your connection strings outside the application.
    Monday, July 30, 2007 1:11 PM
  • Are you saying you need to be able to create a connection string at runtime based on what the user enters?

Here's a function that uses the SqlConnectionStringBuilder object to do that. There are more properties on the SqlConnectionStringBuilder, but this function handles the ones you're most likely to need.

Code Snippet

public static string BuildConnectionString(string serverInstanceName, string databaseName, bool integratedSecurity, string username, string password)
            {
                SqlConnectionStringBuilder connectionBuilder = new SqlConnectionStringBuilder();
                connectionBuilder.DataSource = serverInstanceName;
                connectionBuilder.InitialCatalog = databaseName;
                connectionBuilder.IntegratedSecurity = integratedSecurity;
                if(! integratedSecurity)